IIT Roorkee University

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee is seventh Indian Institute of Technology, was established by James Thomason as Thomason College of Civil Engineering in 1847. In 1949, It became a university and was remained the University of Roorkee till 2001.

It was converted into IIT in 2001 by an act of Government of India and an ordinance is now converted into the act by parliament to make IIT, Roorkee an Institution of National Importance. It has 21 academic departments covering engineering, applied sciences, humanities & social sciences academic centers, 3 centers of excellence and some supporting units. The Institute offers various UG, PG, Integrated and Ph.D. Courses in Engineering, Management, Science, and Architecture. IIT Roorkee Admission for all courses is based on National Entrance exams such as JEE Advanced, GATE, IIT JAM or NATA.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]